Frequently Asked Questions
COVID-19 Updates (As of 6-28-21)
On June 26, 2021, Emergency Order 21-94 expired. As of June 27, 2021, the use of telemedicine services to re-certify existing patients in the Medical Marijuana Use Registry is no longer allowed.
On March 16, 2020, the Florida Department of Health issued Emergency Order 20-002, which allowed the use of telemedicine by qualified physicians for recertifications of already-existing patients.
Under the order, qualified physicians under section 381.986, Florida Statutes, were authorized to issue a physician certification only for an existing qualified patient with an existing certification that was issued by that qualified physician without the need to conduct a physical examination while physically present in the same room as the patient. Telehealth services could only substitute the requirement to “conduct a physical examination while physically present in the same room as the patient,” as required by section 381.986(4)(a)1., Florida Statutes. Telehealth had the same meaning as section 456.47(1)(a).
All other minimum practice requirements and standards of care still applied to recertifications issued under this exception - including obtaining informed written consent from the patient.
Emergency Order 20-002 only applied for a period not to exceed thirty (30) days; however, was extended by Emergency Order 20-011 until the expiration of Executive Order 20-52, including any extensions. On April 27, 2021, Executive Order 21-94 extended Executive Order 20-52 for an additional 60 days.
The Office of Medical Marijuana Use strongly urges all citizens to regularly visit the Department of Health's COVID-19 website to keep informed on the latest information: http://floridahealthcovid19.gov/
Who needs to have a Medical Marijuana Use Registry identification card?
Florida rule 64-4.011, F.A.C. requires all patients and caregivers to have a Medical Marijuana Use Registry identification card. View our Registry Identification Cards page to learn more.
How do I apply for an ID card?
The Department accepts applications from patients and caregivers. Patients must be entered into the Medical Marijuana Use Registry by a qualified physician to receive a card. Applications may be submitted online through the Medical Marijuana Use Registry or mailed to the Office of Medical Marijuana Use. All applications must include a registration fee of $75. See our Registry Identification Card page for more information.
Follow step-by-step instructions by viewing our Initial Application Instructional Guide.
What is the status of my Medical Marijuana Use Registry Card Application?
The Medical Marijuana Use Registry is linked to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles' (FLHSMV) demographic database to make the ID card application and approval process more efficient. Using the FLHSMV sourced data will automatically approve the photo and proof of residency, and may cut down on processing time. Online applications take an average of 10 business days for approval.
If you are submitting an application by mail, please all an additional 3-5 days for postal delivery of your application.
Patients and caregivers can check the status of their application by calling 800-808-9580 or through the Medical Marijuana Use Registry. Click here for a guide of the status icons and their meaning.
How do I renew my ID card?
To maintain an active Medical Marijuana Use Registry identification card, a patient and/or caregiver must annually submit a renewal application, along with the application fee and any required accompanying documents to the department forty-five (45) days prior to the card expiration date. Patients and caregivers can submit a renewal application either online or by mail.
View the Registry Identification Cards page for more information.
Follow step-by-step instructions by viewing our Renewal Application Instructional Guide.
What happens if I need a new ID card?
Requests to change the information on an ID card or to replace a lost or stolen card will require the cardholder to submit a Change, Replacement or Surrender Request Form, along with a copy of his or her Florida driver’s license or identification card and a $15 replacement fee.
To change your address on your ID card, follow step-by-step instructions on our Address Change Instructional Guide.
Where can I find a qualified physician who can order medical marijuana?
The OMMU provides a list of physicians who are authorized to order low-THC cannabis, medical marijuana or cannabis delivery devices. Patients are also able to utilize the Medical Marijuana Qualified Physician Search to find a qualified physician by location and specialty.
Where can I get medical marijuana?
A patient must first seek treatment from a qualified physician. Once the qualified physician inputs the patient’s information and the order information into the Medical Marijuana Use Registry, the patient and the patient’s caregiver (if applicable) need to apply for a Medical Marijuana Use Registry Identification Card. Once approved, a patient or caregiver will then be able to contact one of the licensed medical marijuana treatment centers (MMTCs) and fill the order.
Who can sell medical marijuana?
Only licensed medical marijuana treatment centers (MMTCs) can sell medical marijuana. Medical marijuana may not be purchased from any location other than an approved MMTC.
Medical marijuana treatment centers may only provide medical marijuana or a marijuana delivery device to a qualified patient or a qualified patient’s caregiver.
Can I grow my own marijuana?
No. Florida law only allows licensed medical marijuana treatment centers to grow, process and dispense marijuana. The department will refer any business or individual suspected of violating state law to local law enforcement for investigation. It is important to remember that marijuana is illegal under federal law.
Does Florida allow reciprocity?
The state of Florida does not offer reciprocity. Cannabis remains a Schedule 1 substance under both state and federal law. The 22 currently licensed Medical Marijuana Treatment Centers only dispense orders to qualified Florida patients, and their caregivers, who have had an order added to the Medical Marijuana Use Registry by their qualified physician. To learn more about becoming a qualified patient in Florida, please visit our Patients page.
If you are traveling to another state in which medical marijuana is legal, you will need to contact that state regarding their laws on reciprocity.
How do I apply to open a Medical Marijuana Treatment Center?
The Department is currently in the process of rulemaking and is not accepting applications for MMTCs at this time. To learn more about rulemaking for Amendment 2, please click here. The department will refer any business or individual suspected of violating state law to local law enforcement for investigation. It is important to remember marijuana is illegal under federal law.
What is the difference between low-THC cannabis and medical marijuana?
"Low-THC cannabis" means a plant of the genus Cannabis, the dried flowers of which contain 0.8 percent or less of tetrahydrocannabinol and more than 10 percent of cannabidiol weight for weight; the seeds thereof; the resin extracted from any part of such plant; or any compound, manufacture, salt, derivative, mixture or preparation of such plant or its seeds or resin that is dispensed from a medical marijuana treatment center.
“Marijuana” means all parts of any plant of the genus Cannabis, whether growing or not; the seeds thereof; the resin extracted from any part of the plant; and every compound, manufacture, salt, derivative, mixture or preparation of the plant or its seeds or resin, including low-THC cannabis, which are dispensed from a medical marijuana treatment center for medical use by a qualified patient.
What is a marijuana delivery device?
An object used, intended for use or designed for use in preparing, storing, ingesting, inhaling or otherwise introducing marijuana into the human body, and which is dispensed from a medical marijuana treatment center for medical use by a qualified patient, except that delivery devices intended for the medical use of marijuana by smoking need not be dispensed from a medical marijuana treatment center in order to qualify as marijuana delivery devices.
How do I use my Medical Marijuana Use Registry identification card?
Patients and caregivers must provide their Medical Marijuana Use Registry identification card to medical marijuana treatment centers in order to obtain medical marijuana or a marijuana delivery device. Medical Marijuana Use Registry identification cards may also be used to assist in verifying that a patient or caregiver are in the Department of Health’s Medical Marijuana Use Registry.
If I am a patient, may I also serve as a caregiver for someone else?
Yes. However, a patient wishing to serve as a caregiver for someone else must apply separately for a caregiver card and a patient card.