It is the responsibility of a qualified physician to follow Florida law, diagnose patients and determine if medical marijuana is an appropriate treatment.
Get Started Ordering Medical Marijuana
Find out how to get started ordering low-THC cannabis or medical marijuana for qualified patients.
Visit our Registry page to review helpful Instructional Guides.
Log into the Medical Marijuana Use Registry
Access the Registry to create and manage qualified patients' profiles and certifications.
Get Started Ordering
In order to qualify to order low-THC cannabis or medical marijuana for patients, a physician must have an active, unrestricted license as a physician under Chapter 458, F.S., or osteopathic physician under Chapter 459, F.S. Additionally, a physician employed as a medical director by a dispensing organization may not order low-THC cannabis or medical marijuana for patients.
What training is required?
Physicians who meet the requirements may gain access to the Medical Marijuana Use Registry after completing the required 2-hour course and examination. The course and examination are provided by the Florida Medical Association and the Florida Osteopathic Medical Association. Successful completion of the course is required each time a physician renews his or her license.
Where are Qualified Physicians Listed?
The OMMU provides a list of the physicians who have completed the required training.
Patients and caregivers can also use the Medical Marijuana Qualified Physician Search tool to find a qualified physician by location and specialty.
What Conditions Qualify?
Physicians may only order low-THC cannabis and medical marijuana for a patient if they have been diagnosed with a qualifying condition:
- Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
- Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS)
- Crohn’s disease
- Parkinson’s disease
- Multiple sclerosis (MS)
- Medical conditions of the same kind or class as or comparable to the others listed.
- A terminal condition diagnosed by a physician other than the qualified physician issuing the physician certification.
- Chronic nonmalignant pain caused by a qualifying medical condition or that originates from a qualifying medical condition and persists beyond the usual course of that qualifying medical condition.
What other requirements are there?
Physicians must determine that the risks of treating the patient with low-THC cannabis or medical marijuana are reasonable in light of the potential benefit to the patient.
If a patient is younger than 18 years of age, a second physician must concur with the low-THC cannabis or medical marijuana order, and such determination must be documented in the patient's medical record.
An ordering physician must enter an order of low-THC cannabis or medical marijuana for the named patient into the Medical Marijuana Use Registry and update the registry to reflect the contents of the order. The physician must update the registry within 7 days after any change is made to the original order and must deactivate the patient's registration when treatment is discontinued.
A physician may not order more than a 70-day supply of low-THC cannabis or medical marijuana for a patient.
Have a question for the Office of Medical Marijuana Use? View our most frequently asked questions by physicians to see if your question has been answered.