Caregiver Frequently Asked Questions
What is a caregiver?
Section 381.986(1)(a), Florida Statutes, defines a caregiver as a Florida resident who has agreed to assist with a qualified patient’s medical use of marijuana, has a caregiver identification card, and meets specific requirements set forth under Florida law.
Who can serve as a caregiver?
- A caregiver must:
- Be 21 years of age or older and a Florida resident.
- Agree in writing to help with the qualified patient’s use of medical marijuana.
- Be registered in the Medical Marijuana Use Registry as a caregiver for only one qualified patient, unless otherwise permitted.
- Successfully complete a caregiver certification course developed and administered by DOH, which must be renewed every two years.
- Pass a background screening pursuant to Florida law, unless the patient is a close relative of the caregiver.
- Purchase or give marijuana for medical use to the qualified patient if the qualified patient is under 18 years of age. The minor qualified patient may not purchase marijuana.
- A caregiver must NOT:
- Be a qualified physician.
- Work for or have an economic interest in a medical marijuana treatment center or a marijuana testing laboratory.
- Be paid for any services provided to the qualified patient, except for actual expenses incurred.
Who can have a caregiver?
All qualified patients in Florida’s Medical Marijuana Use Program may designate at least one caregiver (who meets the criteria) to assist with the qualified patient’s medical use of marijuana.
Qualified patients who are under the age of 18 are required to have at least one caregiver.
Can a patient have more than one caregiver?
A qualified patient may designate only one caregiver to assist with their medical use of marijuana, unless:
- The qualified patient is a minor and the designated caregivers are parents or legal guardians of the qualified patient;
- The qualified patient is an adult who has an intellectual or developmental disability that prevents the patient from being able to protect or care for himself or herself without help or supervision and the designated caregivers are the parents or legal guardians of the qualified patient;
- The qualified patient is admitted to a hospice program; or
- The qualified patient is participating in a research program in a teaching nursing home pursuant to section 1004.4351, Florida Statutes.
Can I be a caregiver for more than one patient?
A caregiver may not be registered in the Medical Marijuana Use Registry as a designated caregiver for more than one qualified patient, unless:
- The caregiver is a parent or legal guardian of more than one minor who is a qualified patient;
- The caregiver is a parent or legal guardian of more than one qualified adult patient with an intellectual or developmental disability that prevents the patient from being able to protect or care for himself or herself without help or supervision;
- All qualified patients the caregiver has agreed to help are admitted to a hospice program and have requested the assistance of that caregiver with the medical use of marijuana; the caregiver is an employee of that hospice; and the caregiver provides personal care or other services directly to hospice clients as part of their job; or
- All qualified patients the caregiver has agreed to assist are participating in a research program in a teaching nursing home pursuant to section 1004.435, Florida Statutes.
How do I become registered as a patient's caregiver?
Qualified physicians are the only people who can add a caregiver to a patient’s profile in the Medical Marijuana Use Registry (MMUR). Contact the patient’s qualified physician to be added as a caregiver for the patient.
Once the physician has entered you into the MMUR as a caregiver, you will receive an email with your MMUR login credentials and will be able to apply for your MMUR Caregiver Identification Card. For more information on how to apply for an MMUR ID card, click here.
What is a caregiver profile?
Your caregiver profile in the Medical Marijuana Use Registry (MMUR) contains all your relevant personal information. Each time you log in to the MMUR, you will be able to access this information and your caregiver ID number. Caregivers can update their phone number and email address on this page and should make sure that all the information is current. By clicking the 'Manage Patients' tab, caregivers can view all the patients with whom they are associated.
Can I register as a caregiver for someone who is not a relative?
Adult patients can designate any individual that meets the criteria as their caregiver. All non-close relative caregivers must complete a level 2 background check.
Do I need to complete a level 2 background screening?
Section 381.986(6)(b)6., Florida Statutes, requires caregivers to provide proof of passing a level 2 background screening unless the patient is a close relative of the caregiver. Therefore, caregivers that do not qualify as “close relatives” must pass a level 2 background screening.
Section 381.986(1)(c), Florida Statutes, defines a “close relative” as “a spouse, parent, sibling, grandparent, child, or grandchild, whether related by whole or half blood, by marriage, or by adoption.”
Learn more about the non-close relative background screening process here.
What is the cost of the background screening?
Livescan Service Providers vary in their fees, but typically, the cost for a level 2 background screening ranges from $60 - $85. Caregivers are responsible for all costs associated with a background screening. Learn more about the non-close relative background screening process here.
Can I be a caregiver if I have a criminal record?
Caregivers who are not a close relative of the patient must complete a level 2 background screening. Non-close relative caregiver applicants cannot be approved as a caregiver if they have “an arrest awaiting final disposition for, has been found guilty of, regardless of adjudication, or has entered a plea of nolo contendere or guilty to an offense under…
How do I register a minor as a patient in the program?
Both adult and minor patients should follow the Steps to Treatment. The first step is to visit a qualified physician. However, Florida law has specific requirements for the medical use of marijuana by minors. These requirements include:
- A qualified physician must determine that the medical use of marijuana would likely outweigh the potential health risks for all patients. If the patient is younger than 18 years of age, a second physician must concur with this determination and such concurrence must be documented in the patient’s medical record.
- Pursuant to section 381.986(7)(b), Florida Statutes, the parent or legal guardian of a qualified minor patient must provide the Office of Medical Marijuana Use (OMMU) with written consent for the patient to use medical marijuana. The patient’s qualified physician must submit the parent’s/guardian’s Consent for Minor Patient (CMP) form to the OMMU prior to the minor patient beginning an MMUR ID Card application.
Qualified patients who are under the age of 18, must designate a caregiver in the qualified patient’s application and in the Medical Marijuana Use Registry. Designated caregivers must also submit a completed application to the OMMU to obtain a Medical Marijuana Use Registry Caregiver identification card.
How long does the caregiver approval take?
Processing timelines can vary for caregiver applications. If no additional information is needed after the caregiver applicant submits their initial application, the application may be approved in approximately 10 business days. Please note, non-close relative caregiver applications will take longer to be reviewed/approved due to the required background screening process.